News & EventsLatest NewsCalendar
Wythenshawe CC Jnr/Youth Awards 2023

Wythenshawe CC Jnr/Youth Awards 2023

Tracy Bailey8 Oct 2023 - 22:47
Share via

Another fantastic day to sign off season 2023

A truly awesome day of celebration, not just for all our Wythenshawe CC junior & youth players who received individual awards but for the whole club, as we all came together to acknowledge the wonderful family cricket community we have here at Longley Lane, Northenden ~ thank you all for supporting your children & us each year, we really do appreciate it massively.

We started by thanking all those that gave up their free time for 8 x Fridays to support our All Stars cricket sessions, each receiving a Mcr Originals water bottle

Individual Awards received today:
U9s presented by coach Craig McCoy
Batting - Zayn Jan
Bowling - Rhys McCoy & Zachariah Cornthwaite
Most Improved - James Pullen

Willows (Girls) awards presented by coach Jeannie Platt
Batting - Abbie Weatherhead Faza
Bowling - Daisy Ginder
Fielding - Elise Platt & Poppy Davies
Most Improved - Harriet Wright & Pascale Harrison

U11s presented by coach Dhairya Patel
Batting - Oliver Roddy & Bobby Braisdell
Bowling - Ben Frese
Fielding - Zach Bolton
Most Improved - Rian Mandal & Sam O’Connor

U13s presented by coach Rob Jones
Batting - Heetain Arora
Bowling - Morgan Platt
Fielding - Sonny Ash
Most Improved - Dylan Drummond & Jake Charlton

U15s presented by Rob Jones deputising for coach Matt Taylor
Batting - Oscar Millington
Bowling - Sam Curtis
Fielding & Most Improved - Oscar Millington

Award for Outstanding Catch went to U11s Oliver
Roddy vs Macclesfield CC when playing for the U15s!

Chairman Mike Dean presented the following awards:
U11s Mcr District Representatives - Bobby Braisdell & Oliver Roddy
U13s Mcr District Representatives - Sonny Ash, Heetain Arora, Seth Caldwell, Tom Curtis & Morgan Platt
U15s MCCF (Marylebone CC Foundation) representatives -
Sam Curtis & Oscar Millington
Brian Grundy Award - Liam McCoy for his 5’fer vs Aussie Academy UK tour XI
Brian Sullivan Trophy (Most Improved Jnr) - James Gutteridge
Arran (Google) Riley Trophy (Young Personality of the year) - Rufus Wright
Ravi Gokal Trophy (Outstanding Young Player) - Oscar Millington.

Well done to all recipients ~ very much deserved.
After delicious pizzas & hot dogs from Black Apron, we had our annual & now legendary bumper raffle of fantastic cricket goodies & other donated prizes, thanks to everyone who donated & contributed to the raffle, especially club sponsor Mcr Self Storage Ltd for 2 x £25 vouchers & Didsbury Old Bedians Jnr RUFC for the £100 donation to our Jnr cricket section, all contributions were hugely appreciated, there were definitely lots of very happy winners today.

Finally, it really would be remiss of me not to thank all our brilliant coaches, coach support, scorers, groundstaff, bar staff, sponsors, all our amazing jnr players & their families for the continued support of everything we do, strive for and ultimately achieve here at Wythenshawe CC.
It’s been a fabulous day, time to sign off now for a few weeks (we’ll be announcing winter training updates soon) thank you all.
Tracy Bailey
Jnr Cricket Secretary & Club Safeguarding Officer


Further reading